Share this:

" />
Published On: Wed, Aug 27th, 2014

The Battle for Africa

Share This
Tags

 

China is challenging Western influence on my continent. But the real Battle for Africa is between us Africans and our leaders.

 

Part One premieres TONIGHT (Wednesday) on Al Jazeera English at 22:30 GMT / 23:30 BST / 01:30 WAT

WATCH THE TRAILER AT BATTLEFORAFRICA.TV

Dear Friends:

“When two elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.”

Everyone is talking about China’s big arrival in Africa. Will Western powers be locked into competition with the new economic superpower for resources and influence? Will ordinary Africans be caught in the middle?

I traveled to Kenya, Ghana and Botswana to investigate and discovered that the real Battle for Africa is not between China and the West, but between us Africans and our leaders.

It is a battle for better governance — for leaders who will fight to ensure our resources benefit the people and to overcome the corruption and tribalism that hold us back.

Part One of our new two-part series from The World Investigates, “The Battle for Africa,” premieres tonight on Al Jazeera English’s People & Power program at 22:30 in Freetown, 23:30 in London, and 01:30 in Nairobi. It will air all week. Part Two premieres at the same time next week.

You can view the trailer at BattleforAfrica.tv. Special thanks to director Clive Patterson, Executive Producer Ron McCullagh and Diarmuid Jeffreys at Al Jazeera English.

As always, we look forward to your feedback!

Best wishes,
Sorious

About the Author

-

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>